The moment Romelu Lukaku ruled offside by VAR to denied Chelsea goal against Liverpool

The fractional offside that cost Lukaku his perfect redemption moment after VAR ruled him offside when he actually on side in the Carabao Cup final.

After a crazy season and some real ups and downs, Romelu Lukaku bounces back from a dire showing against Crystal Palace to score a cup final winner for Chelsea.

Sounds good right? That’s what has just happened, except the goal was then ruled out for offside.

The freeze frame of the decision shows it’s impossibly, impossibly tight call. As ever, you can’t really question the straightness of the lines, but you can question whether it’s actually possible to stop the camera at the right moment when the ball is player (protip: it’s not).

You can see the call in the image embedded here:


Leave a Reply